Art of Writing (or Blogging in this case)

English: Blogs on JoopeA
English: Blogs on JoopeA (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

While deliberating the contents of my blogs I realised that blogging is a fairly new concept for me specifically because it’s so public. Before blogs, people like myself kept personal journals which were private. Perhaps this was something that many of us did in our younger years or as a school project. I purchased notebook and pen and began to write. If any of you were like me then you’ll understand what I mean when I say I often spent hours deliberating what to write. My pages were often left blank with a few words or doodles. While thinking of how and what to write, I remember it had to be perfect, articulate, witty, engaging and wise. I deliberated for hours on how I could make it insightful and beautifully written; otherwise what was the purpose of writing at all? I often kept little notes of my thoughts, or quotes which I found heart touching and specifically applicable in areas of my life. I felt that if my very first entry didn’t set the stage for the rest of my journal, then it was pointless. Eventually I wrote something appropriate and decent down. This followed the scrutiny of proofread and deciding it was not up to standard, I’d hide away the journal so no one would see how inadequate I was at writing. Now, when I leaf through some of my old bits of writing, I feel privileged to see the growth in diverse areas of my life through my own personal words, thoughts and feelings.

Now we’re in the 21st century and although journals are still around, I feel they are now quickly being overtaken and in some cases being replaced by blogs which appear to be a permanent aspect of our lives now. So I decide, along with my personal journal which I still write, I will start a blog. I have never really planned how to write a blog, the same way I have never planned my personal journal venture in which I expose my life’s little mysteries. I am no writer and I don’t pretend to be at all, all I know is I want to share with you the various aspects of my life which are significant to me. I write because it brings me great pleasure to share some of my most intimate and secret feelings. It brings me solace and I doubt that many of us now with our busy lifestyles actually find the time to write down our thoughts so precisely.

But really why do we need to write at all? Well, in my opinion not all intimate thoughts should be shared with the world but purely for the sake of yourself and your own heart, write to feel good, to feel free, to free pleasure and feel connected with your soul. I encourage you to write, whether you do it online or in a notebook. Write with your heart, write whatever you may feel or think at the present moment in time without a limit, ignoring rules and conditions. Explore, discover, create, write, express. I have discovered that there is something special about expressing your thoughts through writing and it is this form of writing that provides the most unique ability to speak and hear your inner self. So go on, breathe life into your soul, your mind and express yourself.

Best wishes,
Maahi PM

Leave a Reply

