The Pencil and The Eraser

This is a short story of love and sacrifice which to me resembles the love of a mother for her child. Those of us who are lucky enough to receive mothers love will relate with the protection, security, and unconditional love she showers on us without the demand for recognition or praise. We are all aware that a mothers love cannot be forsaken and is a blessing which will remain with us where ever we may be, a priceless blanket wrapped around us nurturing us tendering each day. But do we know enough of the many sacrifices our mothers make for us everyday? The most significant sacrifice a mother makes is that of her time to ensure her children have the best in life. Their careers take a back seat to ensure we ours has the best possible start and we have the opportunity to build it in the direction most appropriate for us. We owe our mothers more than our lives; we owe them our respect, love but most of all our time.

It was forwarded onto me through email and I felt it necessary to share it with you.

Pencil: I’m sorry

Eraser: For what? You didn’t do anything wrong.

Pencil: I’m sorry because you get hurt because of me. Whenever I made a mistake, you’re always there to erase it. But as you make my mistakes vanish, you lose a part of yourself. You get smaller and smaller each time.

Eraser: That’s true. But I don’t really mind. You see, I was made to do this. I was made to help you whenever you do something wrong. Even though one day, I know I’ll be gone and you’ll replace me with a new one, I’m actually happy with my job. So please, stop worrying. I hate seeing you sad.

The world is filled with thousands of women who are exceptional mothers, who possess drive and determination, who give their children positive reinforcement and much-needed help and support they need to succeed in life.

Let us rise to our feet, raise our glasses, bow our heads and display gratitude, appreciation and undying respect to our mother and all mothers across the lands today and always without whom this world would remain barren and orphaned.

To mothers.

Best wishes,
Maahi PM

Leave a Reply

