Daily Prompt: Overcome

via Daily Prompt: Overcome

Sometimes I cannot believe the difficulties that I have actually overcome. The painstaking, melancholy of life has left its marks on my soul as well as my body, yet here I still am. Yet I often question whether human really do overcome the things that they endure. Overcoming is a powerful phenomenon and understanding what it really is requires some deeper level of consideration. The pain, the anguish, the betrayal as well as all the other set backs, so what does it really mean to overcome something? Do we actually overcome or do we just learn to live life because that is the only option we have available? A majority of the time we as human seem to just adapt and ‘overcome’ the hindrance that has come our way.

Overcoming to me is a form of getting past an obstacle of some sort, this can be emotional, practical, internal or external. But the difference I see is that overcoming means accepting the situation or obstacle and using it in a manner which aids personal development. The overcoming process is not an easy one, its one that is a struggle, painful and often one where you lose some aspect of your being or life. It is not a simplified process and more of a life process of learning to adjust and adapt to difficult changes with sacrifices on the way. Do we ever really overcome these moments? How can we really overcome the pain of a broken heart or a failure of some form? Isn’t the word overcome just a masquerade for adaptation and learning to live with loss? 

I am not what I have done, I am what I have overcome. 

Best wishes 

Maahi PM 

Leave a Reply

